Ramen

The emergence of Ramen


Japan, year of the emperor Meiji 5 (1872). It’s a time of transition and modernization, a time of change and learning from the west and the time of a success story that continues up to now. It is the story of Ramen, an indispensable part of japanese local diet becoming a celebrated food all over the world. But let’s tackle things one at a time.

Japan at the end of Edo period (1603 – 1868). More than 200 years of self-imposed isolation from the outside world gave rise to a samurai centered class society accompanied by a time of peace, economic welfare and cultural flowering. In Edo era Japan, all aspects of life were soaked with cultural development and food culture didn’t make an exception. Early japanese haute cuisine restaurants came into being at the middle of the eighteenth century and first restaurant guidebooks emerged at the end of 18th century. The emphasis on aesthtetic food decoration dates from this time. Dishes had to be beautifully designed, representing the season of the year. Every month of the year had its’ appropriate food. A japanese cuisine, almost unaffected by foreign cultures highly focusing on aestetic aspects came into being. But things changed.

Locked away from the outside world, Japan missed the technical improvements of the western countries. Industrialization as well as the enormous progress in weapon technology passed by unnoticed to the japanese rulers. Therefore, in 1853, it was an easy task for foreign powers to enforce the opening of Japan using gunboat diplomacy. After years of heavy turmoils reformers gained control over the country starting a transformation that no one had envisaged before. Bunmeikaika (Civilization and Enlightenment) was the slogan of the time. Basically, it meant learning from the west to transform Japan into a modern society. Western technology, western lifestyle and fashion and western languages became popular. Foreign influences could be seen all over the country and Ramen was among these innovations. The first Ramen restaurant opend its’ doors in the midst of Meiji restauration in 1872 in Yokohama.

Tokio, Ginza, Meiji 6 (1873)

Ramen as a dish

Ramen, signifying chinese noodles combined with a japanese soup and japanese toppings were first sold in the chinese quarter of Yokohama. After a while, starting in larger cities, Ramen restaurants spread all over the country. The original taste enhanced over time, regional ingredients and flavours were added and even the noodles changed. With their strong background in perfection and aesthetic food preparation, japanese chefs transformed Ramen into a unique japanese dish, completely different from its’ origin. It is the value of kodawari (doing everything the best you can do) that turned an ordinary noodle soup into an extraordinary dish making it to one of the most popular foods in today’s Japan.

Asking for the typical Ramen taste, the word umami is mentioned frequently. This taste, usually applied to the soup, is created by different ingridients. Ramen noodles are, compared to ordinary noodles, much more demanding in production. Experience and professional skills are required. Selected toppings are added to enhance the taste. Eventually, it is the decoration of the soup that plays an important part. Watching the elaborated decoration of a Ramen, a touch of edo style aesthetic can be felt still today.

About Ramen

Ursprünge des Ramen

Japan, Meiji 5, das Jahr 1872 im gregorianischen Kalender. Eine Zeit des Aufbruchs und Umsturzes. Eine Zeit des Wandels und des Lernens und der Beginn einer Erfolgsgeschichte, die bis heute anhält. Es ist die Geschichte des Ramen, jenes Gerichtes, das in Japan längst Kultstatus erlangte und nun auch in anderen Ländern seinen Siegeszug antritt. Doch der Reihe nach.

Wir befinden uns in Japan gegen Ende der Edo-Zeit (1603-1868). Mehr als 200 Jahre komplette Abschottung gegenüber dem Ausland hatten eine lange Friedensperiode und eine beispiellose wirtschaftliche und kulturelle Blüte ermöglicht. Alle Bereiche der japanischen Gesellschaft waren von kultureller Entwicklung durchdrungen und auch die Esskultur blieb davon nicht unberührt. Bereits Mitte des 18. Jahrhunderts gab es in den größeren Städten Spezialitätenrestaurants und erste Restaurantführer. Über allem stand der ästhetische Aspekt. Gerichte mussten geschmackvoll dekoriert sein und sollten die Jahreszeit widerspiegeln. Für jeden Monat im Jahr gab es bestimmte Speisen. Es entwickelte sich eine japanische Küche nahezu frei von äußeren Einflüssen, ganz auf das japanische Gefühl von Ästhetik abgestimmt. Dies sollte sich jedoch schlagartig ändern.

Durch die selbstgewählte Isolation gab es kaum technische Fortschritte. Die Industrialisierung war an Japan ebenso vorbeigegangen wie die enormen Entwicklungen in der Waffentechnik. Für die dominanten Seemächte dieser Zeit war es ein leichtes, Japan 1853 mit Kanonenbootpolitik zur Öffnung zu zwingen. Nach einer Zeit der inneren Unruhen ordnete sich Japan 1868 neu, vollzog eine 180°-Wende und startete eine beispiellose Ära der Modernisierung. Wissen war die oberste Maxime, es galt von anderen Nationen zu lernen. In allen Bereichen des Lebens gab es plötzlich Einflüsse aus dem Ausland und auch die japanische Küche bildete keine Ausnahme. Ausländer, die nach Japan kamen, gingen zuerst in Yokohama an Land. Von dort gedieh die Saat neuer Ideen und Fertigkeiten und verbreitete sich über ganz Japan. Hier entstand auch im Jahre 1872 das erste Ramen-Restaurant.

Ramen als Speise

Ramen, d.h. Nudeln chinesischen Ursprungs, kombiniert mit einer Suppe und Beilagen aus traditionell japanischer Küche, wurden erstmals 1872 im chinesischen Viertel Yokohamas angeboten. Nach einer Weile gab es Ramen-Restaurants in weiteren Städten. Der Geschmack wurde verfeinert und um regionale Zutaten und Geschmacksnoten ergänzt. Heute hat jeder größere Ort Japans Ramen-Restaurants, eine ganze Ramen-Kultur ist entstanden – berühmte Restaurants hüten ihre geheimen Rezepte und Schulen haben sich auf die Ausbildung von Ramenköchen spezialisiert.

Es sind nicht nur schlichte Nudelsuppen, die angeboten werden. Umami ist das Wort der Wahl, wenn es um die Suppe geht. Eine Vielzahl an Zutaten sorgen für diesen Geschmack. Die Nudeln, deren Herstellung ungleich schwerer als bei anderen Nudelarten ist, müssen mit viel fachlichem Geschick zubereitet werden. Beilagen, die perfekt auf die Suppe abgestimmt sind, runden das Geschmackserlebnis ab.  Nicht zuletzt ist es der optische Eindruck der Speise, der in japanischen Ramen-Restaurants hohe Priorität genießt. Betrachtet man die kunstvoll gestalteten Ramen mit ihrer liebevollen Dekoration, kann man auch heute noch einen Hauch Edo-zeitlicher Ästhetik verspüren.